Dulce Et Decorum Est' and 'The Other Side of Silence' stand together as two separate narratives - one pictoral (7 prints) and one textual (7 books) - which unfold concurrently depicting the seven days, the mere seven days, between Wilfred Owen's death and the end of the First World War.

Dulce Et Decorum Est

By Michelle Cioccoloni
Dulce et Decorum Est consists of a series of screen-prints which explore the idea behind the poem itself, the old lie that it is sweet and noble to die for one's country, and the contrast between the sweetness of the poem's form and the content of it.
The value of the individual words here is of a visual kind.  As the words are broken down they become fragments and a shift takes place; the words can no longer be read as text, but become a beautiful and seductive pattern, which in turn becomes a symbol for the beauty and perfection achieved by Owen in his poetry. 
The final pattern was achieved by a painstaking process of cutting out and rearranging all the letters of the poem to create a beautiful and decorative motif, the hand-made, laborious nature of the process evoking similar, obsessive activities undertaken by the soldiers in order to fill the time spent on the front waiting for the next attack. The pattern reveals a marble headstone emerging from a deep red background, the spectrum of reds tracing the seven days Owen between Owen's untimely death and the end of the war and also the last seven days of his life.
Hundreds of thousands of gravestones for the soldiers who died are distilled into one single gravestone, Wilfred Owen's, the poet buried amongst his words.

Dulce 1

Dulce 2

Dulce 3

Dulce 4

Dulce 5

Dulce 6

Dulce 7

<< Previous | Next >>