News - Rosalind Hudis wins the 2011 Wilfred Owen Association Bursary.

Posted: 13/10/2011 20:49 | News Home

The Wilfred Owen Association is delighted to announce the winner of this year's Wilfred Owen Association Bursary, which takes the form of a fully-paid place on one of the courses at the Ty Newydd writers' centre near Cricieth. 

Out of almost twenty submissions - many of them of excellent quality - for the bursary this year, all three judges chose Rosalind Hudis, of Pont Newydd, Aberystwyth, as the outright winner. Her work seems to us to be of outstanding quality: her poetic voice is individually distinctive, but also takes its place in the tradition of R.S.Thomas and Gillian Clarke - which is high praise indeed. We particularly admired the way in which she makes the Welsh landscape act in various ways as a metaphor for the human condition and the human drama.

Ms Hudis will be a student on the "Poetry, Memoir and Fiction" course run by Owen Sheers and Paul Henry at Ty Newydd in November. We hope that she will let us have an account of the course, and also some of her poems, to publish in a future issue of the Journal of the Wilfred Owen Association. 

Category: General