Dannie Abse CBE

Posted: 07/01/2012 16:42 | News Home

Poet and playwright Dr Dannie Abse, recipient of the Wilfred Owen Poetry Award in 2009, has been awarded a CBE for services to poetry and literature in the 2012 New Years Honours List.  

Dr Abse talks about his CBE on the BBC Wales website.

Tags: Dannie Abse | Category: General

The Wilfred Owen Poetry Award

Posted: 16/12/2011 21:40 | News Home

The Wilfred Owen Association is pleased and proud to announce that Gillian Clarke has agreed to accept the Wilfred Owen Poetry Award for 2012. She will be the first woman poet to receive it.

Gillian Clarke, the National Poet of Wales, and recipient of the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010, was born in 1937 and brought up in Cardiff. Although both of her parents were Welsh-speakers, she was not brought up to speak the language but – like R.S.Thomas – learned it as an adult.  She and her husband now live in mid-Wales, where, in addition to all their other activities, they run an organic smallholding.

Gillian studied English at the University of Wales in Cardiff, and worked briefly at the BBC before marriage and motherhood.  Her first mature poem, “The Sun Dial”, became the title poem of her first collection in 1978: there have been eleven volumes since, published mostly by Carcanet. Gillian was Editor for some years of the Anglo-Welsh Review , and is closely connected with the Writers’ Centre at Tŷ Newydd, near Cricieth in North Wales – at which the WOA now offers an annual bursary.

The WOA likes to give the Award to writers who have created a substantial body of work over the years. We do not at all insist that the recipient should be primarily a “war poet”, but it is naturally a major theme for modern poets, and all the recipients so far have, at one time or another, tackled the subject of war. Gillian Clarke has written a number of such poems – notably about the Bosnian War and the First Gulf War.  Poems such as “The Field Mouse” and “Siege” dramatically and poignantly use the Welsh landscape as both backdrop and metaphor for human hope and human cruelty.

In October 2011, a number of WOA members were able to meet Gillian, and to hear her read, at the opening of the Forester’s House near Ors. Following upon this, the Committee unanimously agreed to offer her the WOA Award for this coming year. The award is made every two years, and previous recipients include the late Christopher Logue, Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Tony Harrison, Dannie Abse and Professor Jon Stallworthy.  Gillian Clarke is a distinguished addition to this list. 

The Award will take place as close as possible to Remembrance weekend in 2012 – details will follow as soon as they can be confirmed.

Tags: Gillian Clarke | Category: General

Christopher Logue 1926-2011

Posted: 05/12/2011 21:22 | News Home

Poet Christopher Logue, recipient of the Wilfred Owen Poetry Award in 1998, has died aged 85.  

An obituary will be printed in the next issue of the Wilfred Owen Association Journal.

Christopher Logue obituary (Guardian, 3 December 2011)




Tags: Christopher Logue | Category: General

E-petition to change Scrap Metal Dealers Act, 1964

Posted: 05/12/2011 21:15 | News Home

Due to a significant rise in value, metal has become a much sought after commodity. This increased demand has resulted in a sharp rise in metal theft nationally. War memorials and statues are amongst the items that have been taken.

Historically the scrap metal trade has been a cash in hand industry. This creates difficulties as there is no audit trail, making identification of individuals who may be trading stolen metal or who may be committing tax or benefits fraud, a difficult proposition. An amendment to the Scrap Metal Merchants Act 1964 to prohibit cash transactions would make payment by cheque or directly into a bank account mandatory and would be a significant component in reducing metal theft.

Please sign the e-petition on the HM Government website.

Tags: Scrap Metal Dealers Act | Category: General

The Beaverbrook Vimy Prize for young people

Posted: 22/11/2011 13:57 | News Home

The Beaverbrook Vimy Prize is the Vimy Foundation’s flagship programme. Providing young students with a historical perspective second to none, the annual scholarship brings together youth from Canada, the United Kingdom and France, so that they can better appreciate the intertwined history of their three nations and come to understand the bravery and sacrifice of war.

The Beaverbrook Vimy Prize is awarded on the basis of essay submissions and interviews. Participants must be 15-17 years old with a 70% grade average at school and proven leadership skills. Winners take part in an intensive scholarship program in Europe, participating in educational seminars and museum events, including visits to the iconic Vimy War Memorial and other historic battlefields and gravesites, in England, Belgium and France.

Application deadline is February 15th, 2012.  Download a form from the Vimy Foundation's website.


Click here for more on the Vimy Foundation.


Tags: Beaverbrook Vimy Prize, Vimy Foundation | Category: General

<< Previous | News RSS | Archive | Next >>