Our website makes use of cookies. To find out more please read our privacy policy

Wilfred Owen Association

President: Elizabeth Owen

Vice-Presidents: The Earl of Gowrie, Peter Florence, Helen McPhail, Philip Guest, Dr Rowan Williams, Sir Daniel Day-Lewis

Chair: Dr Jane Potter

Vice-Chair: To be appointed

Committee Secretary: Mark Cardale

Membership Secretary: To be appointed

Treasurer: Colin Kerr

Journal Editor: Meg Crane

Press and Fundraising Officer: Fiona MacDonald

Social Media and Website Manager: To be appointed

Education Officer: Chris Bent

The Wilfred Owen Association was formed in 1989 to commemorate the life and work of the renowned poet who died in the final week of the First World War.

Philip Larkin described him as “an original and unforgettable poet … the spokesman of a deep and unaffected compassion”. Owen's poetry retains its relevance and universal appeal; it is certainly much more widely read and appreciated now than at any time since his death, and the Association's wide range of members represents all backgrounds and levels of scholarship and interest. 

Since its formation the Association has established permanent public memorials in Shrewsbury and Oswestry. In addition to readings, talks, visits and performances, it promotes and encourages exhibitions and conferences, and awareness and appreciation of Owen's poetry. It publishes a twice-yearly Journal.

The Association offers practical support for students of literature and future poets, through links with education, support for literary foundations, a bursary, and information on historical and literary background material.


Support the work of the Wilfred Owen Association by becoming a member.

Subscription information

Click on the link above for subscription rates and to download a membership form or pay online.

For information about membership contact the Membership Secretary, Lucy Elder, at lucy_elder@hotmail.com 

Back to top